Miles Franklin Award 2014

All-the-Birds-SingingLast night author Evie Wyld was announced winner of the 2014 Miles Franklin literary award. Shortlisted for her second novel, All the Birds Singing, Wyld was up against some well known authors including Richard Flanagan and Tim Winton.

A synopsis of All the Birds Singing from
Jake Whyte is living on her own in an old farmhouse on a craggy British island, a place of ceaseless rains and battering winds. Her disobedient collie, Dog, and a flock of sheep are her sole companions, which is how she wanted it to be. But every few nights something—or someone—picks off one of the sheep and sets off a new deep pulse of terror. There are foxes in the woods, a strange boy and a strange man, rumors of an obscure, formidable beast. But there is also Jake’s past—hidden thousands of miles away and years ago, held in the silences about her family and the scars that stripe her back—a past that threatens to break into the present. With exceptional artistry and empathy, All the Birds, Singing reveals an isolated life in all its struggles and stubborn hopes, unexpected beauty, and hard-won redemption.

You can check out the shortlisted books on the Miles Franklin Award website and reserve your copy on our catalogue.

Miles Franklin Award 2012 winner – Anna Funder

Debut novelist Anna Funder was awarded the Miles Franklin Award 2012 for her novel, All That I Am.

Anna Funder

On behalf of the 2012 judging panel Prof Gillian Whitlock reflected on the novel saying “The judges admired this ambitious novel that moves across continents and decades to remind us that experiences of exile and dislocation have long been part of Australian life.”

Find a copy of the award winning book in the Library here.

Anna has also penned an internationally recognized non-fiction book, Stasiland which also recounts tales of bravery, betrayal and suffering in the daily chaos of former East Germany.

Congratulations Anna!

More information about the Miles Franklin Literary Award can be found here.

Miles Franklin Award Shortlist 2012

This year’s Miles Franklin Literary Award Shortlist has been announced and includes two first-time novelists.

The shortlist is:

  1. Tony Birch: Blood, University of Queensland Press
  2. Anna Funder: All That I Am, Hamish Hamilton (Penguin Group Australia)
  3. Gillian Mears: Foal’s Bread, Allen & Unwin
  4. Frank Moorhouse: Cold Light, Vintage (Random House Australia)
  5. Favel Parrett: Past the Shallows, Hachette Australia

Click on a link to find the book here in the Library.

Stella Miles Franklin

The award was established by celebrated author Stella Miles Franklin, best known for her novel ‘My Brilliant Career,’ and is Australia’s oldest and most renowned literary prize. The winning novel in her words “must present Australian life in any of its phases”, and a $50,000 prize is awarded to the successful author.

Last year’s award went to Kim Scott for That Deadman Dance.

The 2012 winner will be announced on June 20 at the State Library of Queensland and we’ll post it here – stay tuned!