Prime Minister’s Literary Awards 2012 Winners

The results are in!

Prime Minister Julia Gillard and Arts Minister Simon Crean announced the winners of the six 2012 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards at the National Library of Australia yesterday.

FictionFoal’s Bread by Gillian Mears
PoetryInterferon Psalms by Luke Davies
Non-fictionAn Eye for Eternity: The Life of Manning Clark by Mark McKenna
Prize for Australian HistoryThe Biggest Estate on Earth: How Aborigines Made Australia by Bill Gammage
Young adult fictionWhen We Were Two by Robert Newton
Children’s fictionGoodnight, Mice! By Frances Watts, illustrated by Judy Watson

This year’s Prime Minister’s Literary Awards have attracted the highest number of entries since its inception. Entries were received from every state and territory and included books, e-books, websites, documentaries and audiovisual material.

The Awards celebrate the contribution of Australian literature and history to the nation’s cultural and intellectual life. The winner of each award will receive an $80,000 tax-free money prize.

The Hon. Julia Gillard tweeted just after the announcement “Congratulations to the winners of the PM’s Literary Awards. Now in their 5th year, I’d like to think they’ve become a tradition. “