Miles Franklin Award Shortlist 2012

This year’s Miles Franklin Literary Award Shortlist has been announced and includes two first-time novelists.

The shortlist is:

  1. Tony Birch: Blood, University of Queensland Press
  2. Anna Funder: All That I Am, Hamish Hamilton (Penguin Group Australia)
  3. Gillian Mears: Foal’s Bread, Allen & Unwin
  4. Frank Moorhouse: Cold Light, Vintage (Random House Australia)
  5. Favel Parrett: Past the Shallows, Hachette Australia

Click on a link to find the book here in the Library.

Stella Miles Franklin

The award was established by celebrated author Stella Miles Franklin, best known for her novel ‘My Brilliant Career,’ and is Australia’s oldest and most renowned literary prize. The winning novel in her words “must present Australian life in any of its phases”, and a $50,000 prize is awarded to the successful author.

Last year’s award went to Kim Scott for That Deadman Dance.

The 2012 winner will be announced on June 20 at the State Library of Queensland and we’ll post it here – stay tuned!